## CHAPTER I.—PHYSIOGRAPHY.

## PART I.—GEOGRAPHICAL FEATURES.

Situation.—The Dominion of Canada comprises the whole northern half of the North American continent except the United States territory of Alaska, and Labrador, a part of the colony of Newfoundland. It is bounded on the west by the Pacific ocean and Alaska; on the south by the 49th parallel, the Great Lakes, the St. Lawrence river and additional lines set out by the Ashburton Treaty, signed Aug. 9. 1842; and on the east by the Atlantic ocean, the gulf of St. Lawrence, the territory of the coast of Labrador, as defined by the award of the Privy Council, Mar. 1, 1927. and Davis strait. As regards the far north, Canada includes all the lands in the area bounded on the east by a line passing midway between Greenland and Baffin, Devon and Ellesmere islands to the 60th meridian of longitude, following this longitude to the pole, and or the west by the 141st meridian of longitude, following this longitude to the pole. The southernmost point is Middle island in lake Erie, in north latitude 41° 41', while from east to west the Dominion extends from about west longitude 57°-at the southernmost point of the boundary with Labrador-to west longitude 141°, the boundary with Alaska. Canadian territory thus extends over 84° of longitude and 48° of latitude.

Area.—The area of the Dominion (as revised on the basis of the results of recent exploration in the north) is 3,684,723 square miles, a figure which may be compared with that of 3,743,529 square miles for the United States and its dependent territories, 3,776,700 the total area of Europe, 2,974,581 the total area of Australia, 4,277,170 the total area of China inclusive of dependencies, 3,275,510 the area of Brazil, 1,802,577 the area of India, 121,633 the area of the British Isles and 13,491,977 the area of the British Empire. By comparison with the last two figures, Canada is seen to be over 30 times as large as the British Isles and to comprise over 27 p.c. of the total area of the British Empire.

Political Subdivisions.—Canada is divided from east to west into the following provinces:—the Atlantic Maritime provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, all three comparatively small in area; Quebec, covering a strip south of the St. Lawrence and the whole territory north of the St. Lawrence and east of the Ottawa to Hudson strait, less the territory of the coast of Labrador; Ontario, extending northward from the Great Lakes to Hudson bay; Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, the provinces of the interior continental plain, extending from 49° to 60° north latitude; and British Columbia, the province of the western mountain and Pacific coast region, also extending from 49° to 60°. North of the 60th parallel of latitude, the country is divided into the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories, the latter area composed of the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin. In actual area the three Maritime provinces, covering a total land area of 51,163 square miles, make up but 1.4 p.c. of the total land area of the country. Quebec, the largest in area of all the provinces, covers 16.5 p.c. of the country's aggregate land area. Ontario constitutes 10.3 p.c., Manitoba 6.5 p.c., Saskatchewan 6.9 p.c., Alberta 7.1 p.c., British Columbia 10.0 p.c., the Yukon Territory 5.8 p.c., and the provisional districts of Franklin 15.5 p.c., Keewatin 6.1 p.c., and Mackenzie 13.9 p.e. (see Table 1, p. 5).